Main Header Container



Greater Good Award

Instilled with a passion for their purpose and a dedication to the greater good of humanity, Lawrence Academy graduates have done some truly incredible things after leaving campus. To honor them, the Dunn Family (Jay ’83, Marty ’85, Peter ’86, Margaret ’90, and their parents) established the Greater Good Award in 2005. Each fall on Founders’ Day and each spring on Cum Laude Day, the award is presented to a current or former Spartan who has demonstrated through their actions an understanding of their responsibility to use their education to benefit others.

Make a Greater Good Award Nomination

View Past Greater Good Award Recipients

Athletic Hall of Fame

The Lawrence Academy Athletic Hall of Fame, meanwhile, was established to honor and perpetuate the memory of individuals and teams that have made outstanding contributions to the quality of LA Athletics and have helped bring recognition, honor, and excellence to the Academy and its athletic program throughout its history. Honoring outstanding LA athletes old and new, the Hall of Fame highlights athletic character, sportsmanship, achievement, and pride, and provides a positive link between the student-athletes of the past and those of today.

Make an Athletic Hall of Fame Nomination

View all Previous Athletic Hall of Fame Inductees

Doc Haman receiving his Alumni Faculty Appreciation Award

Alumni Faculty Appreciation Award

Established in 1997 by Suzanne Schiller Loonie ’88, and voted on by the alumni, the Alumni Faculty Appreciation Award is given annually at Reunion to a current or past faculty member for his or her commitment and dedication to the students of Lawrence Academy. LA alumni are asked to submit their nominations throughout the year and the highest cumulative vote recipients are presented to the Head of School for final determination of the recipient.

Make an Alumni Faculty Appreciation Award Nomination

Amos Lawrence Award

Established in 2004 to acknowledge and honor alumni for their outstanding volunteer service to Lawrence Academy. This award recognizes LA alumni/ae for their loyalty, service, and commitment to forwarding the mission of Lawrence Academy.

Founder’s Day Award

Established in 1993 as part of the bicentennial celebration, The Founders’ Day Award is given annually at Founders’ Day for extraordinary service to Lawrence Academy. Each year nominations for the award flow to the Head of School, who then discusses the award with the President of the Board and determines a recipient.

Kathy Peabody Book Award

The Kathy Peabody Book Award is given annually to that member of the non-teaching Lawrence community, including Academy staff and family members, who help to create a secure and positive environment in which all members of the community may achieve their best.

Kevin McDonald '70 (pictured above on the right) and his dorm mates from Pillsbury House established this award in 1997 to honor Mrs. Peabody. Mr. and Mrs. Peabody were the dorm parents in Pillsbury House, which was a boys’ dorm back when LA was an all-boys school. Kathy Peabody was a distinguished English teacher at Groton-Dunstable High School.

The Peabody Award plaque hangs in the Schoolhouse and there you can see names of previous recipients.